Cali-GrafCali-Graf
Hybrid inverterSolarEdge

SolarEdge SE3800A-US

Hybrid inverter, dc-coupled hybrid (pv + battery). 7 models, 3.8 kW–11.4 kW AC at 208 V / 240 V. used with power optimizers.

CEC listed · Jul 1, 2017Rapid shutdownInstalled in 18 SoCal permits
Model
  • Rated AC power3.8 kW
  • CEC weighted efficiency98.0%

Models & power ratings

CEC Grid Support Inverter List (Oct 7, 2026) · NLR SAM inverter library · building permits · 7 models
ModelNominal ACGrid voltageCEC continuousRated AC (SAM)CEC weighted eff.DC test windowCEC listedUL 1741 SBIn permits
SE3800A-US3.8 kW208 V3.99 kW3.99 kW97.0%320–500 VJul 1, 2017—6
SE3800A-US3.8 kW240 V3.79 kW3.79 kW98.0%360–480 VJul 1, 2017—6
SE7600A-US7.6 kW208 V7.56 kW7.56 kW97.5%325–480 VJul 1, 2017—5
SE7600A-US7.6 kW240 V7.62 kW7.62 kW97.5%360–480 VJul 1, 2017—5
SE10000A-US10 kW208 V9.93 kW9.93 kW97.0%325–480 VJul 1, 2017—1
SE10000A-US10 kW240 V9.94 kW9.94 kW97.5%360–480 VJul 1, 2017—1
SE11400A-US11.4 kW240 V11.4 kW11.4 kW97.5%360–480 VJul 1, 2017—1
Some models are also on the CEC Battery Inverter list — one product, two listings.

DC input (PV side)

CEC Grid Support Inverter List (Oct 7, 2026) · NLR SAM inverter library

AC output (grid side)

CEC Grid Support Inverter List (Oct 7, 2026)

Efficiency

CEC Grid Support Inverter List (Oct 7, 2026) · NLR SAM inverter library
CEC weighted efficiency is measured by an accredited lab at six power levels and three DC voltages — the number to compare between inverters.

Grid & smart-inverter certification

CEC Grid Support Inverter List (Oct 7, 2026) · SolarEdge datasheet
UL 1741 SB is required for new interconnections in California (Rule 21) since 2026.

Backup power

Safety & protection

SolarEdge datasheet

Monitoring & communication

SolarEdge datasheet · CEC Grid Support Inverter List (Oct 7, 2026)

Size, weight & environment

SolarEdge datasheet

Panel compatibility & string sizing

NLR SAM inverter library · NLR PVWatts v8 · CEC PV Module List · Cali-Graf calculation
SE3800A-US: max DC 480 V · MPPT 360–480 V (CEC test window)

Most-permitted panels in Southern California

PanelPowerVoc coldVmp hotPanels per stringInstalled together
Qcells Q.PEAK DUO BLK ML-G10.C+ 410410 W48.1 V30.6 Vno fit2
Qcells Q.PEAK DUO BLK ML-G10+ 410410 W48.1 V30.6 Vno fit—
LONGi LR5-54HABB-400M400 W39.3 V25.3 Vno fit—
JA Solar JAM54S31-405/MR405 W39.4 V25.5 Vno fit—
Hyundai Solutions HiN-T440NF(BK)440 W40.9 V27 Vno fit—
Silfab Solar SIL-440QD440 W41.1 V28 Vno fit—
Qcells Q.TRON BLK M-G2+ 430430 W41.3 V28 Vno fit—
Qcells Q.TRON BLK M-G2.H+ 430430 W41.3 V28 Vno fit—
REC Group REC460AA Pure-RX460 W68.8 V47.1 Vno fit—
Elin (Sirius PV) ELNSM54M-HC-410410 W39.3 V25.3 Vno fit—
Qcells Q.TRON BLK M-G2.C+ 430430 W41.3 V28 Vno fit—
Tesla TSP-420420 W43.4 V27.7 Vno fit—
Usually installed with power optimizers: string length follows the optimizer rules, not panel voltage — use the manufacturer’s designer.
Voltage check only, from CEC panel data and NLR weather for the city. Final design must follow the inverter manual and NEC 690.7.

Battery & storage pairings

building permits

Batteries installed with it in SoCal

LG Energy Solution RESU 10H
5
SolarEdge Home Battery
5
LG Energy Solution (model not specified)
2

What it's installed with

building permits

Panels

LG Electronics LGxxxN1C-V5
2
Qcells Q.PEAK DUO
2

Optimizers

SolarEdge Power Optimizer
3

Batteries

LG Energy Solution RESU 10H
5
SolarEdge Home Battery
5
LG Energy Solution (model not specified)
2
Permits naming both; 15 of 18 permits list other equipment.

Installed in Southern California

building permits
18
Permits name it
Jul 2019 – Aug 2025
2
Jurisdictions so far
LA County (unincorp.) (17), Palmdale (1)
6.7 kW
Typical system
median of 10 permits

Permits over time

120191120203202112022020231202412025permits per year

Model named in permit

SE3800A-US
6
SE7600A-US
5
SE11400A-US
1
SE10000A-US
1

Top ZIP codes

  • ZIP 910015
  • ZIP 935912
  • ZIP 911072
  • ZIP 917752
  • Other ZIP codes7
Only installer and ZIP level is shown — no homeowner names, street addresses or permit numbers. Permits from LA County (unincorp.) come without a contractor license, so they count toward totals but not toward installers. Counts grow as more permit portals are loaded.

Who installs SExxxxxA-US in SoCal

building permits · CSLB License Master

Compare with similar 3.8 kW inverters

CEC Grid Support Inverter List (Oct 7, 2026) · building permits
InverterPowerCEC weighted eff.DC test windowUL 1741 SBLatest CECSoCal permits
SolarEdge SExxxxxA-US3.8 kW–11.4 kW98.0%360–480 V—201725
SolarEdge SExxxxH-US3 kW–11.4 kW99.0%360–480 VYes20251,046
Delta Electronics Ex-TL-US3.33 kW–9.6 kW97.5%200–480 VYes202228
Qcells Q.VOLT Hx.xSX3.8 kW–7.6 kW97.5%175–500 VYes202325
Growatt MIN xxxxTL-XH-US2.63 kW–11.4 kW98.0%125–480 VYes202115
Same type and grid voltage, power range covering this model; same fields from the same sources.

About SolarEdge

CEC Grid Support Inverter List (Oct 7, 2026)

Other series

SExxxxH-US · 1046 permitsNXxxxxT-US

Questions & answers

How efficient is the SolarEdge SExxxxxA-US?

The California Energy Commission lists a weighted efficiency of 97.0–98.0% for SolarEdge SExxxxxA-US models, measured at six power levels and three DC voltages.

What sizes does the SolarEdge SExxxxxA-US come in?

The CEC list includes 7 models from 3.8 kW to 11.4 kW AC: SE3800A-US, SE3800A-US, SE7600A-US, SE7600A-US, SE10000A-US, SE10000A-US, SE11400A-US.

Is the SolarEdge SExxxxxA-US certified to UL 1741 SB?

The CEC list does not show UL 1741 SB certification for these models.

Can the SolarEdge SExxxxxA-US be used with a battery?

The CEC lists it as a dc-coupled hybrid (pv + battery). In Southern California permits it was installed with LG Energy Solution RESU 10H, SolarEdge Home Battery, LG Energy Solution (model not specified).

What is the SE3800A-US’s DC input voltage range?

CEC tested it at 360–480 V DC.

Who installs it in Southern California?

Building permits name this series 18 times (Jul 2019 – Aug 2025). The most active licensed installers are Bright Ops.

Sources

  1. California Energy Commission — Grid Support Inverter List (solar and battery inverters), data as of Oct 7, 2026. Manufacturer-reported, confirmed by CEC against certificates and test reports.
  2. SolarEdge — manufacturer datasheet “STOREDGE TM SolarEdge Single Phase StorEdgeTM Solutions for North America”.
  3. NLR (formerly NREL) — System Advisor Model CEC inverter library (version 2026.7.3).
  4. NLR (formerly NREL) — PVWatts v8, NSRDB PSM v3 typical-year weather for Los Angeles, Palmdale, Riverside, Santa Clarita, Chula Vista, Huntington Beach.
  5. California Energy Commission — PV Module List (module electrical data for the compatibility check).
  6. Building permits — Los Angeles County Public Works (EPIC-LA, unincorporated areas) (Jul 2019 – Aug 2024); City of Palmdale (Aug 2025). Equipment matched from permit descriptions by model number.
  7. Contractors State License Board — License Master (contractor names and license status), as of Oct 5, 2026.
  8. Cali-Graf calculations — formulas and inputs are shown next to each calculated value (efficiency from area, temperature-corrected voltages, string sizing, energy estimates).